Original Poem: An Upcoming Drought

You were inside my body
And as you performed your sorcery so close to my heart
I sat there as you looked at my lungs
And implied that it didn’t matter that I was drowning
And then you scored my mind with uneven patches of apathy and self-loathing
As if you were an unskilled farmer
Waiting for the rain to fall
And it did and they grew
Into mountains of missed opportunities
Spent with you in the fog
Instead of out in the open.
You sent me wandering away from life
And I’m struggling to find my way back to it
But I present evidence to you
Of an upcoming drought.

Leave a Reply

